Claim being evaluated

Reduces knee pain

A claim to investigate, not an established benefit. Each outcome below is assessed separately.

What the evidence suggests

Knee pain intensity: The only evidence is one small clinic report: 16 people with knee pain from various causes got BPC-157 knee injections, and most later said by phone that their pain had improved. There was no comparison group, so improvement from time, other treatments or expectation cannot be ruled out. The certainty of this evidence is very low, which means we do not know whether BPC-157 reduces knee pain.

What remains unknown: No randomized or controlled trials compare BPC-157 with placebo or usual care for knee pain. Pain intensity has not been measured with validated scales at standardized follow-up times. It is unknown whether effects differ by cause of knee pain, such as osteoarthritis or injury. The effect of BPC-157 separate from thymosin beta-4 is unclear. Duration of benefit and adverse events of knee injection were not reported in the available abstract, so safety is unknown.

Version 1 · published November 8, 2026 · evidence through November 8, 2026 · research snapshot 2026.1.1 · methodology ev-1 · Automated by rule (no eligible human study was found), not reviewed by a person.

Certainty by outcome

Knee pain intensity

Very low certainty

Patient-important outcome · 1 study · 17 participants

Not enough evidence to tell

The only evidence is one small clinic report: 16 people with knee pain from various causes got BPC-157 knee injections, and most later said by phone that their pain had improved. There was no comparison group, so improvement from time, other treatments or expectation cannot be ruled out. The certainty of this evidence is very low, which means we do not know whether BPC-157 reduces knee pain.

What the research measured: In one uncontrolled retrospective case series, patients recalled their knee pain improvement by telephone, mostly 6 months to 1 year after intra-articular injection. With BPC-157 alone, 11 of 12 patients (91.6%) reported significant improvement. In the BPC-157 plus TB4 group, 75% of 4 patients did. Overall, 14 of 16 patients (87.5%) reported relief. There was no comparison group and no validated pain intensity measure.

What remains unknown: No randomized or controlled trials compare BPC-157 with placebo or usual care for knee pain. Pain intensity has not been measured with validated scales at standardized follow-up times. It is unknown whether effects differ by cause of knee pain, such as osteoarthritis or injury. The effect of BPC-157 separate from thymosin beta-4 is unclear. Duration of benefit and adverse events of knee injection were not reported in the available abstract, so safety is unknown.

Reviewers’ note: The evidence starts at low because it comes from a non-randomized case series. It is rated down further for very serious risk of bias, serious indirectness and very serious imprecision. Certainty cannot fall below very low.

How the certainty was judged
GRADE domain judgments
DomainJudgmentWhy
Starting levelLow (nonrandomized evidence)
Risk of biasVery serious (rated down two levels)A single retrospective case series with no control group, unclear patient selection, retrospective recall of pre-injection pain by telephone, no validated pain tools, an undefined 'significant improvement', and confounding from multiple knee pain causes, co-treatments and natural course.
InconsistencyNot applicable (one study)Only one study was eligible, so consistency across studies cannot be assessed.
IndirectnessVery serious (rated down two levels)No placebo, usual care or no-treatment comparator; 4 of 16 patients also received TB4; mixed causes of knee pain; outcome is a binary recalled improvement, not pain intensity.
ImprecisionVery serious (rated down two levels)Only 16 patients were analyzed (4 in the combination group). No comparative effect estimate or confidence interval was reported, so the size of any effect cannot be estimated.
Publication biasNot detectedToo little evidence to assess formally. The study is a small, abstract-only report from a single clinic with funding not reported, which raises some concern about selective reporting.

Included studies

Version 1 · published November 8, 2026 · evidence through November 8, 2026 · research snapshot 2026.1.1 · methodology ev-1 · GRADE (handbook, 2013) · Automated assessment by AI (claude-opus-5-5 and claude-sonnet-5-5), not reviewed by a person.

The questions and the studies screened

Population, intervention, comparator and outcome (PICO), and why each study was or wasn’t eligible.

Population: Adults with knee pain (any cause) · Intervention: BPC-157 (any route studied) · Comparator: Placebo, usual care or no treatment · Outcome: Knee pain intensity · Follow-up: At least 4 weeks

  • PLS-00001: not eligible (wrong population)
  • PLS-00002: not eligible (wrong population)
  • PLS-00033: not eligible (wrong population)
  • PLS-00034: eligible · indirect evidence (differs on comparator, intervention): Adults with knee pain of various causes received intra-articular BPC-157 and reported pain improvement. However, there was no placebo, usual care or untreated comparator.
  • PLS-00035: not eligible (wrong population)
  • PLS-00227: not eligible (wrong population)
  • PLS-00246: not eligible (wrong population)
  • PLS-00252: not eligible (wrong population)

Version history

  • Version 1 · published November 8, 2026 · evidence through November 8, 2026 · research snapshot 2026.1.1 · methodology ev-1 · Automated by rule (no eligible human study was found), not reviewed by a person.

How claims are assessed

These assessments describe published research. Records marked automated were produced by AI under the published methodology and have not been reviewed by a person; they can contain errors. None of this is medical advice, not a statement about any product’s safety for human use, and not a regulatory approval. Peptide Library’s vendor and partner relationships play no part in them (editorial independence).