Tabimorelin dosage in published studies and labels
These are the doses used for Tabimorelin in FDA labelling and published clinical studies, reported as each source states them, one row per regimen. They describe what was studied or approved for a specific population. They are not a recommendation, and none of them is a dose for any individual.
Research and educational reference only. This is not medical advice, and no figure on this page is a dosing recommendation.
Last checked against primary sources:
Studied regimens and sources
Tabimorelin (NN703) has no approved dosage. Its human dosing comes from small studies published in 2000–2003 of an oral, weight-based dose: single doses of 0.05–12 mg/kg and 7 days of 1.71–6.86 mg/kg in healthy men, and 1 week of 1.5–3 mg/kg a day in 97 adults with growth hormone deficiency, of whom only 11% had a meaningful growth hormone response. No later trials are indexed.
| Human dosing established | Yes |
|---|---|
| Route | Oral |
| Frequency | Single dose or once daily |
| Duration studied | Single dose to 7 days |
| Evidence level | Limited Human Evidence |
| Last reviewed | 2026-11-07 |
Research-reported dosing
Doses as studied, one row per regimen. Different trials used different regimens; they are listed separately rather than averaged.
| Study / context | Population | Dose | Route | Frequency | Duration | Outcome studied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adults with growth hormone deficiency (2003)Clinical trial · Multicentre, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study | Adults with growth hormone deficiency (n=97; 83 tabimorelin, 14 placebo) | 3 mg/kg on the first and last day and 1.5 mg/kg a day on the 6 days between | Oral | Once daily | 1 week | Generally well tolerated; 11% of treated patients reached a peak growth hormone of at least 5 mcg/L; IGF-1 unchanged | Oral administration of the growth hormone secretagogue NN703 in adult patients with growth hormone deficiency. Clin Endocrinol (Oxf). 2003. |
| Single ascending dose study (2000)Clinical trial · Double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study | Healthy male volunteers (n not stated in the indexed abstract) | Eight escalating doses from 0.05 to 12 mg/kg body weight | Oral | Single dose | Single dose, sampling to 24 hours | Growth hormone raised at 1.5 mg/kg and above; IGF-1 raised at 6 and 12 mg/kg; well tolerated | The pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, safety and tolerability of a single dose of NN703, a novel orally active growth hormone secretagogue in healthy male volunteers. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2000. |
| 7-day repeated dose study (2001)Clinical trial · Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study | Healthy male subjects (n not stated in the indexed abstract) | 1.71, 3.0, 4.5 or 6.86 mg/kg body weight | Oral | Once daily | 7 days | Dose-related growth hormone rise that declined from day 1 to day 7; IGF-1 higher than placebo at the three highest doses | The pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, safety and tolerability following 7 days daily oral treatment with NN703 in healthy male subjects. Growth Horm IGF Res. 2001. |
| Drug interaction study with midazolam (2003)Clinical trial · Clinical pharmacokinetic interaction study | Adult male subjects (n=17) | Dose not stated in the indexed abstract | Oral | Single dose, then once daily for 7 days | 7 days, with a 7-day washout | Midazolam exposure rose up to 93%, consistent with inhibition of the liver enzyme CYP3A4 | A clinical study investigating the pharmacokinetic interaction between NN703 (tabimorelin), a potential inhibitor of CYP3A4 activity, and midazolam, a CYP3A4 substrate. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 2003. |
Where sources disagree
- All human doses are weight-based oral doses in milligrams per kilogram, studied for a week at most. They do not convert into a fixed dose or an injected dose.
- Tabimorelin inhibited CYP3A4 in people, raising blood levels of a drug cleared by that enzyme. That interaction was reported in the same research programme.
- Development did not continue past these early studies, and no later trial is indexed on PubMed or registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. The sources reviewed here do not state why it stopped.