Ganirelix dosage in published studies and labels
These are the doses used for Ganirelix in FDA labelling and published clinical studies, reported as each source states them, one row per regimen. They describe what was studied or approved for a specific population. They are not a recommendation, and none of them is a dose for any individual.
Research and educational reference only. This is not medical advice, and no figure on this page is a dosing recommendation.
Last checked against primary sources:
Studied regimens and sources
Ganirelix has an FDA-approved human dosage for preventing a premature LH surge in women having controlled ovarian hyperstimulation. The label dose is 250 mcg under the skin once a day from the mid to late follicular phase, after FSH has been started on day 2 or 3 of the cycle, continued until the day of hCG.
| Human dosing established | Yes |
|---|---|
| Studied dose range | 250 mcg once daily during ovarian stimulation, until the day of hCG |
| Route | Subcutaneous |
| Frequency | Once daily |
| Duration studied | From the mid to late follicular phase until the day of hCG |
| Evidence level | FDA Approved |
| Last reviewed | 2026-11-07 |
Research-reported dosing
Doses as studied, one row per regimen. Different trials used different regimens; they are listed separately rather than averaged.
| Study / context | Population | Dose | Route | Frequency | Duration | Outcome studied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FDA label — Ganirelix Acetate Injection (Organon)FDA-approved label · FDA prescribing information | Women undergoing controlled ovarian hyperstimulation | 250 mcg | Subcutaneous (prefilled syringe) | Once daily | Mid to late follicular phase until the day of hCG administration | Inhibition of premature LH surges | Ganirelix Acetate Injection (Organon) — FDA prescribing information, DailyMed |
| FDA label — FYREMADEL (ganirelix acetate) injectionFDA-approved label · FDA prescribing information | Women undergoing controlled ovarian hyperstimulation | 250 mcg | Subcutaneous (prefilled syringe) | Once daily | Mid to late follicular phase until the day of hCG administration | Inhibition of premature LH surges | FYREMADEL (ganirelix acetate) injection — FDA prescribing information (Ferring), DailyMed |
| Ganirelix dose-finding trial (de Jong et al., 2001)Clinical trial · Randomised controlled multicentre dose-finding trial | Women having IVF with recombinant FSH (n=329) | 0.0625, 0.125, 0.25, 0.5, 1.0 or 2.0 mg a day | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Daily, from cycle day 7 | Not stated in the indexed abstract | Follicle growth was similar across doses; late follicular LH, androstenedione and estradiol fell as the dose rose | de Jong D et al. Dynamics of the development of multiple follicles during ovarian stimulation for in vitro fertilization using recombinant follicle-stimulating hormone (Puregon) and various doses of the gonadotropin-releasing hormone antagonist ganirelix (Orgalutran/Antagon). Fertil Steril. 2001. |
Where sources disagree
- Ganirelix is one part of an IVF protocol. The labels pair it with FSH from day 2 or 3 and hCG to trigger final follicle maturation, and say hCG should be withheld if the ovaries are abnormally enlarged.
- Organon's product, the original ganirelix, is now labelled simply "Ganirelix Acetate Injection"; no DailyMed listing carries the older Antagon name. Several other companies list ganirelix with the same 250 mcg daily dose.
- The labels say pregnancy must be excluded before treatment and report hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactoid reactions.